What is Buji?

This site is mainly dedicated to the first definition above, the town of Buji located in China. Before continuing, lets zoom in on a map of China to see where Buji is, physically.

About China

China map
China Map: light grey is Guangdong province, pink is Shenzhen city

China consists of 22 provinces, 5 autonomous regions, 4 municipalities, and 2 special administrative regions.

ProvincesAutonomous RegionsMunicipalitiesSpecial Administrative Regions
  1. Anhui
  2. Fujian
  3. Gansu
  4. Guangdong
  5. Guizhou
  6. Hainan
  7. Hebei
  8. Heilongjiang
  9. Henan
  10. Hubei
  11. Hunan
  12. Jiansu
  13. Jiangxi
  14. Jilin
  15. Liaoning
  16. Qinghai
  17. Shaanxi
  18. Shangdong
  19. Shanxi
  20. Sichuan
  21. Yunnan
  22. Zhejian
  1. Guangxi
  2. Neimenggu (Inner Mongolia)
  3. Ningxia
  4. Xinjiang
  5. Xizang (Tibet)
  1. Beijing
  2. Chongqing
  3. Shanghai
  4. Tianjin
  1. Aomen (Macau 1999)
  2. Xianggang (Hong Kong 1997)

About Guangdong province

Guangdong map
Guangdong Map: pink area is Shenzhen, red is Buji

Guangdong province contains 17 cities. Shenzhen is one of them.
  1. Chaozhou
  2. Chenghai
  3. Dongguan
  4. Foshan
  5. Guangzhou
  6. Huizhou
  7. Jiangmen
  8. Kaiping
  9. Nanhai
  10. Panyu
  11. Shantou
  12. Shenzhen
  13. Shunde
  14. Xinhui
  15. Zhanjiang
  16. Zhongshan
  17. Zhuhai

About Shenzhen city

Shenzhen map
Shenzhen Map: pink areas is Shenzhen, Four smallest pink areas are inside Special Economic Zone

Shenzhen city consists of 6 districts, four within the Shenzhen Special Economic Zone, and two outside of it.

About Longgang district

Longgang map
Longgang Map: light pink is Longgang, Buji town farthest left.

Situated in the northeast of Shenzhen City, Longgang District is adjacent to Daya Bay to the east, Dapeng Bay to the south, Baoan District, Luohu District and Yantian District to the west, and Dongguang and Huizhou City to the north. It is the largest district under Shenzhen city with total area of 844.07 square km and total population of around 1.83 million, of which, permanent population of 0.28 million. It has 13 street offices including Pinghu, Buji (contains Nanwan and Bantian), Henggang, Longgang (contains Longcheng), Pingshan, Pingdi, Kengzi, Kuichong, Dapeng, and Nanao under its jurisdiction.
With physiognomy of low mountain, hill, and shore, Longgang District has good natural environment. It has a topography higher in the northeast and lower in the southwest, and in its territory the highest mountain is "Qiniang Mountain" (located in Dapeng Peninsula, 869.1m above sea level). Longgang District is located in subtropical maritime monsoon climate zone with annual average temperature of 22.3 degrees C, the highest 37 degrees C and the lowest 14 degrees C, annual average relative humidity of 80%, annual average rainfall of 1933 mm, annual average rainfall days of 140, non-frost period of 335 days and southeastern wind dominant all the year round.
Adjacent to mountain and sea, Longgang District has a coastline longer than 130km, and complete marine sediments and erosion physiognomy such as sand beach, island, reef, sea cliffs, cavity, bridge, post and so on, of which, beach of Dapeng Peninsula was listed among "eight most beautiful coastlines in China" in 2005.
Longgang District has good traffic and transportation network. It is only 30-40 minutes car distance from the center of Longgang to Shenzhen Baoan International Airport. At present initial preparation work for No. 3 metro line (subway) has been officially launched. In terms of ocean transportation, Longgang District is closely adjacent to Yantian Port, a big international port to its south and around 35km from Shekou Port to the west.

The following is a listing of expressway, truck highway, and railways running through Longgang.
ExpresswayTruck HighwayRailway
National Highway 205
Jinhe Expressway
Shenshan Expressway
Huiyan Expressway
Yanba Expressway
Shuiguan Expressway
Yanpai Expressway
Qingping Expressway
Hengping Highway
Shahe Highway
Bulan Highway
Guangshen Railway
Pingnan Railway
Pingyan Railway

Longgang district consists of 10 towns. Buji town is one of them.

  1. Buji
  2. Dapeng
  3. Henggang
  4. Kengzi
  5. Kuichong
  6. Longgang
  7. Nanao
  8. Pingdi
  9. Pinghu
  10. Pingshan

About Buji town

Buji map
2006 Satellite map of Buji (divided into three main areas)

Buji town is famous for being a second "Dongmen" shopping area (called Buji Jie) outside of the Shenzhen Special Economic Zone, and is also famous for its world renowned Dafen oil painting village. In addition, the town is currently undergoing high construction mode, becoming the most advanced software and electronic high-tech area in China in the very near future. The most modern and advanced area in Buji is located in the Luogang area (the first main stop in Buji that is just outside of the Shenzhen Special Economy Zone).

Buji is divided vertically into three main areas, with the leftmost area called Bantian Jiedao, the middle called Buji Jiedao, and the rightmost area called Nanwan Jiedao. The middle area is the most developed in Buji. Buji town used to contain a lot of villages, and their associated village names. However, during recent construction efforts of large business and living complexes, the villages were renamed, or had the designation "village" removed from the name. Many new areas were also created. The following is a list of the areas in Buji (categorized into the three main areas).
Bantian JiedaoBuji JiedaoNanwan Jiedao

The following are some smaller village names in Buji, which may be replaced in the near future.
  1. BaiGeLong Village
  2. DaLiang Village
  3. MuMianWan Village
  4. NanMendun Village
  5. ShangShuiJing Village
  6. ShangXue Village
  7. Xia Village
  8. XiaShuiJing Village
  9. XinSan Village
  10. XiLiang Village
  11. Yi Village

Buji Station (布吉站)

More information about Buji Station (布吉站)

Qiushuishan Park (求水山公园)

More information about Qiushuishan Park (求水山公园)

Other Related Sites

The following is a more general site about China: The Realm of China